PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to learn

Breea
June 1st, 2005, 11:33 PM
Hi,
I'm wanting to learn how to do CGI and would like all the help I can get. I do art but have never tried doing anything on a computer..Anyone out there willing to take on a interested student?
Breea

gmd3d
June 2nd, 2005, 02:09 AM
As a student myself Breea, You have the best help right here. I would suggest you down load the free Truespace3.2 to start with http://www.caligari.com/products/truespace/ts3/ it a full version and its free. you have to register.

It was the fist prog that I got but Lightwave is the one I always wanted really

skyhawk223
June 2nd, 2005, 07:17 AM
Welcome Breea. Try trueSpace. You can also try Pov-Ray and Moray. Both are free, at least as of a few years ago. That's what I started on.

Red_ufo
June 5th, 2005, 05:00 AM
Not to mention G-Max & Blender both are free….Cheers

Sitting Duck
June 5th, 2005, 09:47 AM
Hi Breea, you can also try the Maya Personal Learning Edition which is a free version of that top notch 3D software. You can get it at the official website http://www.alias.com/glb/eng/products-services/product_details.jsp?productId=1900003

Tutorials for it are found all over the internet.

Breea
June 5th, 2005, 10:15 AM
Thanks for everybody's help...I feel like the blind leading the blind but nothing ventured nothing gained..LOL Hevan only knows what it's going to look like..
Breea

skyhawk223
June 6th, 2005, 07:00 AM
It will take time. Heck, I've been at this since 1999 and still model mainly simple shapes.

p.s. Cargile
June 25th, 2005, 04:14 PM
Red UFO mentioned G-max and Blender. I have G-max (like I was going to build a freaking plane for Microsoft Simulator--I'll need a damn class just to figure out the SDK!), but there is no renderer for it. Is Blender a renderer or another modeler?

skyhawk223
June 26th, 2005, 11:32 AM
Blender can render. (sorry, I had to)

p.s. Cargile
June 26th, 2005, 04:02 PM