PDA

View Full Version : A Question re: Lightwave v.8 and Stars

Fretslayer
February 12th, 2007, 02:24 PM
Hello all,
Sorry if this isn't the correct place to ask this question but I wasn't sure where else to do it.

I've been using Max for a few years now and while I'm pretty good with it, I've made the decision to jump over to Lightwave.

Here is my question...

I need to create a starfield in order to animate a space scene.
I've used modeler and the create>primative>star sphere to make my starfield and then I've placed my ships inside of the star sphere. It looks great until I try to animate the scene... When I move my camera, the stars move along with it.
I don't want that to happen.
I need the stars to be disconnected from the camera so my ships look like they're moving through a vast space.

I know how to resolve this issue within MAX, however being a noob @ LW I'm kind of stuck.

If any of you LW-Gurus could help me, I would really appreciate it and I will bring you nice shrubbery.

:D

etwtewtew
February 16th, 2007, 12:14 PM
It sounds like somehow or another your star sphere became parented to your camera, I could throw out a better guess if you could post a screen cap of your scene editor panel

Fretslayer
February 16th, 2007, 02:56 PM
First off, Thank you for taking the time to reply to my question.

I think I may have figured it out, however I've hit a different wall - the stars themselves are not nearly a bright as I need them to be. I'm trying to get a starscape which looks like something you'd see in the new version of Galactica.

Here is an image of my scene editor as well as a single frame of the shot I'm trying to create. The nebula in this shot is just a background image and I've placed my star-sphere and Enterprise mesh in front of them.

Again, thank you for your time and assistance.

etwtewtew
February 16th, 2007, 03:44 PM