PDA

View Full Version : 3DSMax-Lightwave conversion


wjaspers
August 6th, 2008, 12:35 PM
Right got a question, maybe something Warrior can answer, because he did a lot of conversions.

I have a model, severall hundred parts, in Max. In max it is easy to work with, everything is grouped. When I export it as LW objects and scene, LW stops (or get real slow) half way, because it will load not groups but the whole scene.

Is there a way to get it loading by groups, should I export from max into a lot of seperate scenes, and will those scenes (groups) load into LW correctly, and ofcourse can you animate it, or does LW animate the groups seperately.

I am not a LW user, but I need to get it converted at least correct so a real LW user can do stuff with it. Saw also a button "load into layer", maybe that's the way to do it?

Anyone?

gmd3d
August 6th, 2008, 12:54 PM
In the Modeler you can load "part" in there own layer.. which helps if you have a lot of details .. you can have up to 99 layers as far as i now.

loading your completed model in to one layer (If I am thing it the one your recently finished) would crash a lot of machines I think ..

gmd3d
August 6th, 2008, 12:55 PM
Hey I just went over a 1000 posts .. cool .. only here since 2004

gmd3d
August 6th, 2008, 12:57 PM
I thin a lot of separate parts in to it own layer .. it help when the few time I've tried to convert but as warrior has alot of experience in this .. your possibly better of waiting for him :)

Darrell Lawrence
August 9th, 2008, 10:53 PM
Will, the "parts" in a Max or 3DS (or tS even) group become parts in a layer in LW.

If you have a Max ship with say, a saucer group, a main hull group and nacelle groups, then export each group separately.

Then you can load that group into LW. Once again, each part of that group will become a layer.

You can then group those layers in LW, then load the other Max converted groups and do the same to them.

wjaspers
August 10th, 2008, 02:24 PM
Thanks, going to try that.

Darrell Lawrence
August 10th, 2008, 06:17 PM
Any probs, hollar.

What are you using to convert?

Fretslayer
August 11th, 2008, 04:27 PM
Will, the "parts" in a Max or 3DS (or tS even) group become parts in a layer in LW.

If you have a Max ship with say, a saucer group, a main hull group and nacelle groups, then export each group separately.

Then you can load that group into LW. Once again, each part of that group will become a layer.

You can then group those layers in LW, then load the other Max converted groups and do the same to them.

That is a really cool trick!
I'm going to use it myself - Thanks!
:)