Go Back   3D Gladiators Forums > DISCUSSION AND SUPPORT > General Discussions
Notices
General Discussions Need to talk about anything not covered in the other discussion forums? Pop here! NO FLAMING ALLOWED!

Old February 5th, 2001, 09:06 PM   #1
Godfrey

Default Memory Usage

Okay, so I'm relatively new to this whole Windows thing (I used OS/2 Warp until recently).

When I boot up my computer, before I even start any programs, I'm showing 165 MB free -- out of 256! Is it normal for Windows to take 91MB just to run in?!

------------------
Jeff Lee -- shipbrk@gate.net -- http://www.gate.net/~shipbrk/

Etiam singula minima maximi momenti est.
Old February 6th, 2001, 12:00 AM   #2
Lisa's Secret

Well, look at the manufacturers label, that one with the nice logo, and think about your question again.

*Only sticking with whinedows until Linux supports MAX properly*
Old February 6th, 2001, 05:02 AM   #3
Godfrey

Yeah, I knew Micro$oft produced bloated code, but come on! That's a little ridiculous, isn't it?

------------------

Old February 6th, 2001, 10:37 PM   #4
Tygerlander

memory? you should see how much space Windoze takes up on the hardrive

Tina

------------------
******* Tygerlander's Domain
******* Tygerskins Megastore (Poser textures and other goodies)
Old February 7th, 2001, 10:11 PM   #5
Spunkey

'4megs of ram will be enough for everyone'

sorry what was that bill?? did you say something? didnt quite catch ya.

i have 256 megs on win98, leaves me with around 200megs free after startup. press ctrl+alt+del and see what progs you have running from startup. get rid of everything except explorer and systray to clear up some ram.

------------------
'Happy happy, joy joy' - Ancient Wisdom
Old February 7th, 2001, 10:46 PM   #6
Godfrey