Go Back   3D Gladiators Forums > DISCUSSION AND SUPPORT > The Help Zone
Notices
The Help Zone This is where questions are asked about how certain things work in your apps.

Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old December 28th, 2012, 07:37 PM   #1
tnpir4001
Master Pilot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 345
Default 3DS Max and Component Drift

Hoping someone here can help me with this...

I'm working with MAX 2012 and I have a problem with 3DS exports. The scene I'm working with in MAX itself looks fine, but when I export to 3DS and then import into another program (in this instance, Bryce 7.1 and Deep Exploration 6), it looks like the mesh "blew up," for lack of a better word. The components will simply be all over the place and the exported mesh isn't useable. Take a look:

http://www.trekmeshes.ch/phpBB3/down...=106&mode=view

See what I mean? This is supposed to be a Sovereign-class starship that was custom-made for me. I can't export to OBJ because the UV mapping comes out wrong, and I know there's a way to fix this drift problem because the original mesh that this custom job is based on didn't do this when exported to 3DS.

So the question is, how do I fix this "component drift"?
tnpir4001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 03:02 PM   #2
Darrell Lawrence
Formerly "Warrior"
The Last Starfighter
Owner
 
Darrell Lawrence's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Rylos
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Are the parts collapsed or exploded in the objects tree prior to export?
__________________
"Don't worry, miss. I've got you." "You got me? Who's got you???" - from Superman- The Movie
"Some of you may die, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to make." - from Shrek
" If not for TOS, then there would be no Trek movies, TNG, DS9, Voyager or 'Enterprise'. "
"Legends never die... They just get new Captains."
"The art of scape goating interests me." - Dauntless
Darrell Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 03:12 PM   #3
tnpir4001
Master Pilot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 345
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Negative--the object in MAX looks like it's supposed to.

Here's some additional information:

The mesh in question was natively made in MAX 2012, but was saved in 2010 format since that's what I've got. I tried resetting the objects' pivot points to the center of the object and re-exporting, which had no effect. Then I just tried resetting the pivot points and re-exporting, which seemed to do the trick.
tnpir4001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 06:14 PM   #4
Darrell Lawrence
Formerly "Warrior"
The Last Starfighter
Owner
 
Darrell Lawrence's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Rylos
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

I've had Max files look like their suppose to in a Max scene, but when exported to 3DS, objects are missing or out of place because the mesh wasn't collapsed.

That's why I asked.

I'm not a Max user though.
__________________
"Don't worry, miss. I've got you." "You got me? Who's got you???" - from Superman- The Movie
"Some of you may die, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to make." - from Shrek
" If not for TOS, then there would be no Trek movies, TNG, DS9, Voyager or 'Enterprise'. "
"Legends never die... They just get new Captains."
"The art of scape goating interests me." - Dauntless
Darrell Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 06:16 PM   #5
tnpir4001
Master Pilot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 345
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Just for future reference, how do I collapse a mesh?
tnpir4001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 06:28 PM   #6
evil_genius_180
3DG Forum Moderator
 
evil_genius_180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Unfortunately, I'm not a Max user either. However, I've had plenty of models do this. Someone told me once that it has something to do with how it's built an export settings. Regrettably, that was years ago and I can't remember the specifics.

I don't know how many Max users frequent this forum. You may need to try somewhere else to find your answer.
__________________
My Blog is Here
evil_genius_180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 06:45 PM   #7
Darrell Lawrence
Formerly "Warrior"
The Last Starfighter
Owner
 
Darrell Lawrence's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Rylos
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

I sent a PM to a Max user over at Fleets.
__________________
"Don't worry, miss. I've got you." "You got me? Who's got you???" - from Superman- The Movie
"Some of you may die, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to make." - from Shrek
" If not for TOS, then there would be no Trek movies, TNG, DS9, Voyager or 'Enterprise'. "
"Legends never die... They just get new Captains."
"The art of scape goating interests me." - Dauntless
Darrell Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 08:47 PM   #8
Darrell Lawrence
Formerly "Warrior"
The Last Starfighter
Owner
 
Darrell Lawrence's Avatar
 

Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Rylos
Posts: 4,018
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Yowch. Heard back from him and found out he hasn't used Max for a number of years. He doesn't know what the problem is.
__________________
"Don't worry, miss. I've got you." "You got me? Who's got you???" - from Superman- The Movie
"Some of you may die, but that is a sacrifice I am willing to make." - from Shrek
" If not for TOS, then there would be no Trek movies, TNG, DS9, Voyager or 'Enterprise'. "
"Legends never die... They just get new Captains."
"The art of scape goating interests me." - Dauntless
Darrell Lawrence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 10:16 PM   #9
evil_genius_180
3DG Forum Moderator
 
evil_genius_180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Scifi-Meshes is the best place I can think of with a lot of Max users that may be able to help. There are quite a few people over there who use Max and I believe that's where I saw that explanation as to what causes that several years ago.
__________________
My Blog is Here
evil_genius_180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 29th, 2012, 10:25 PM   #10
tnpir4001
Master Pilot
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 345
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

Meh, I don't have anything to do with SFM these days. I never went back after that flap during the production of Retribution last year; haven't involved them with Redemption at all. I've got the information I need to fix this problem going forward, I'd just as soon leave it at that.
tnpir4001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 30th, 2012, 10:00 AM   #11
evil_genius_180
3DG Forum Moderator
 
evil_genius_180's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 5,768
Default Re: 3DS Max and Component Drift

At least you got the information you needed.

Now, remember to mark this as "SOVLED" (oh wait, wrong forum. )
__________________
My Blog is Here
evil_genius_180 is offline   Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Constitution TOS update (Max 2.5) Dan Mesh Releases 14 March 21st, 2001 12:11 PM






For Fans Of CGI/Digital Art


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:30 PM. Contact Us - 3D Gladiators - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.11 Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content and Graphics ©1999-2010 3DGladiators
The 3D Gladiators Forums are run by CGI/Digital Art fans, paid for by CGI/Digital Art fans, for the enjoyment of fellow CGI/Digital Art fans.



©1999-2005 3D Gladiators