Go Back   3D Gladiators Forums > DISCUSSION AND SUPPORT > General Discussions
Notices
General Discussions Need to talk about anything not covered in the other discussion forums? Pop here! NO FLAMING ALLOWED!

Reply

 
Thread Tools
Old December 11th, 2001, 08:49 AM   #1
EBOLII
Guest
 
EBOLII's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default nVIDIA geoforce2 MX 400 problems......ITS a video card

Nobody ever answers my questions in the 3d apps q&a section....I have evidence look at some of my other posts in here-----grumble grumble

okay I am done...check this out
my motherboard is VP6 dual processor p3 933
I did have a 3dblaster savage4 AGP installed I took out all the drivers installed my new 64mb gf2 and NOTHING my monitor does not start

so then I put it into my p3 450 and it works fine my monitor starts up no problems

fired off several emails to motherboard manufacture and Nvidia hoping to get a available solution


ANYone have problems with this?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 11th, 2001, 09:42 AM   #2
Thomas P
TOS Gladiator Manager
 
Thomas P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 2,069
Default

Well - as far as answering your MAX 4.2 issues - can't help you. Hardware either - too many combos and that ain't what this forum area is for

The only problems seen out there seem to be with the latest drivers that were releases and you don't seem to get that far. Sorry - but, hey - you got a response.
__________________
3d Gladiators division

"That which does not kill me simply postpones the inevitable"

My Site

My Blog
Thomas P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2001, 11:55 PM   #3
Quikp51
Guest
 
Quikp51's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well getting drivers is a snap since you only need the Detonators to get the chipset to run at peak efficiency. But being a tech I do know of an incompatibility with GeForce chipsets and mainboards running VIA chipsets. I don't know if your model mainboard is hosting VIA chipsets on it but if it does that maybe the problem. I had the same problem running my new GeForce2 MX 400 64MB until I realized I had a mainboard with VIA chips on it, I bought a Radeon 8500 64MB instead. Hope this helps a little bit at least.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 12th, 2001, 11:58 PM   #4
Quikp51
Guest
 
Quikp51's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I should mention though that not all VIA chips resist GeForce chips, mostly they're the 133Mhz Front Side Bus boards and a select few 266Mhz Front Side Bus boards.
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2001, 03:50 AM   #5
EBOLII
Guest
 
EBOLII's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

wonderfull I hav a VIA chipset

an apollo pro 133A chipset to be exact


so what does this mean?
  Reply With Quote
Old December 13th, 2001, 01:09 PM   #6
Quikp51
Guest
 
Quikp51's Avatar
 
Posts: n/a
Default

Well it may mean that you're never going to get that card to work with your mainboard. VIA and Nvidia don't seem to even want to tackle this incomaptibility issue. Heck there are even forums dedicated to defeat this problem and no one has yet so I doubt anything will happen. I do know that the newer 266 FSB VIA boards support Nvidia chipsets but who wants to upgrade just for that. My advice is to get ahold of a Radeon 7500-8500 series and go from there. It's a crappy situation but I think alot of us already have succumb to it one way or another.
  Reply With Quote

Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump






For Fans Of CGI/Digital Art


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:41 PM. Contact Us - 3D Gladiators - Archive - Privacy Statement - Top
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.8.11 Copyright ©2000 - 2022, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content and Graphics ©1999-2010 3DGladiators
The 3D Gladiators Forums are run by CGI/Digital Art fans, paid for by CGI/Digital Art fans, for the enjoyment of fellow CGI/Digital Art fans.



©1999-2005 3D Gladiators